Guide

Fees and speed, compared

The headline fee is rarely the real cost. Here’s how to read what moving money actually takes out of your pocket.

Last updated 29 August 2026

Two providers can both say "free" and cost wildly different amounts. The difference hides in the exchange rate and the withdrawal terms, not the advertised fee — and for several wallets available to Australians, it hides in a fee schedule you cannot reach at all.

What the same transfer actually costs

Here is one transfer — a thousand Australian dollars, funded from a bank account, arriving in a US dollar account — priced at every wallet we can price. The figures are computed from each provider's own published schedule rather than quoted from its marketing.

Sending A$1,000 to a US dollar account
Method
What it costs
As a percentage
Revolut
Nothing published to charge
Standard has no published allowance figure, only fair-usage limits, so a fee beyond the surcharge cannot be ruled out at this amount
Wise
A$2.81
0.28%
PayPal
A$40.00
4.00%
Neteller
A$57.40
5.74%
Skrill
A$57.40
5.74%
AstroPay
Cannot be priced
The provider publishes no reachable fee schedule
Beem
Cannot be priced
Domestic transfers only; no conversion offered
eZeeWallet
Cannot be priced
The provider publishes no reachable fee schedule
Jeton
Cannot be priced
The published schedule does not resolve to an Australian rate
MiFinity
Cannot be priced
The published schedule does not resolve to an Australian rate
MuchBetter
Cannot be priced
The provider publishes no reachable fee schedule
Neosurf
Cannot be priced
The provider publishes no reachable fee schedule
Payz
Cannot be priced
The provider publishes no reachable fee schedule

Computed from each provider's published schedule for a bank-funded, bank-delivered transfer, cheapest first. 8 of these 13 wallets cannot be priced at all — that is the finding, not a gap.

The spread is the point. The cheapest and dearest here are not a few dollars apart; they differ by more than an order of magnitude on the same transaction, and none of them describes itself as expensive.

The fee that isn't shown: FX margin

When a wallet converts currency it usually adds a margin to the exchange rate. That margin is the real cost, and it does not appear as a line item — the rate simply looks slightly worse than the one you would find by searching for it.

Measured across eight currencies on 28 August 2026, Wise's total cost sat between 0.25% and 0.49% depending on the corridor. PayPal publishes a flat 4.00% conversion margin for transfers where the recipient receives a different currency. Skrill and Neteller both publish 3.99%, and then charge a withdrawal fee on top of it. On A$1,000 that is A$2.81 at Wise against A$40.00 at PayPal, and A$57.40 at Skrill or Neteller once the withdrawal is counted.

The wallets that publish nothing

This is the part comparison sites tend to skip, because there is no number to put in a column. Several wallets marketed to Australians do not publish a fee schedule an Australian can actually reach — the page is missing, the provider does not serve one to this market, or rates are shown that cannot be attributed to an Australian customer.

Which wallets publish fees an Australian can reach
Method
Fee schedule
What we found
AstroPay
No reachable schedule
The published fees page returns nothing usable.
Beem
Published
Rates read from the provider's own fee page.
eZeeWallet
No reachable schedule
The published fees page returns nothing usable.
Jeton
Not resolvable to Australia
A schedule exists, but which rates apply here is not stated.
MiFinity
Not resolvable to Australia
A schedule exists, but which rates apply here is not stated.
MuchBetter
No reachable schedule
The published fees page returns nothing usable.
Neosurf
Not served to Australia
The provider does not serve a schedule to an Australian visitor.
Neteller
Published
Rates read from the provider's own fee page.
PayPal
Published
Rates read from the provider's own fee page.
Payz
No reachable schedule
The published fees page returns nothing usable.
Revolut
Published
Rates read from the provider's own fee page.
Skrill
Published
Rates read from the provider's own fee page.
Wise
Published
Rates read from the provider's own fee page.

6 of 13 publish a schedule that resolves to an Australian customer. Checked by hand against each provider's own fees page; where nothing resolves, no figure is recorded rather than one guessed.

A provider that will not tell you its rates before you sign up is making a decision about you, and it is worth reading as one. Where nothing resolves to an Australian customer, we record that rather than reprinting a figure from another market and hoping it applies.

Withdrawal timing, and the second fee

"Instant" inside a wallet does not mean instant to your bank. Many wallets settle between their own users immediately but take one to three business days to reach an Australian bank account, and charge again on the way out.

That second charge is where the arithmetic usually goes wrong. Neteller takes 1.75% on a bank withdrawal with a US$3.50 minimum; Skrill's reaches 3.99% on some methods — the same rate it charges to convert. Converting and then withdrawing means paying twice, which is why a wallet advertised at "3.99%" can cost closer to six percent by the time the money is in your account.

Where domestic is genuinely free

Australia's own rails stay in Australian dollars, so there is no margin to hide. None of them charges the customer anything.

The Australian rails charge you nothing
Rail
Scheme fee
Operated by
BPAY
A$0.00
BPAY Group (Australian Payments Plus)
Osko
A$0.00
BPAY Group (Australian Payments Plus)
PayID
A$0.00
NPP Australia Limited (Australian Payments Plus)
PayTo
A$0.00
NPP Australia Limited (Australian Payments Plus)

The scheme takes nothing from the customer. Anything you are charged is set by the bank offering it, which is why a single figure for the rail itself would attribute to the scheme a decision each bank makes separately.

What you may be charged is set by your bank, not by the scheme — which is why "PayID costs X" is a claim nobody can make honestly about the rail itself. For moving money between Australians, nothing a wallet offers beats them on price, because zero is the price.

How to read any fee page in two minutes

  • Find the conversion margin first. It is the largest number in most schedules and the least visible. If the page does not state one, the cost is inside the rate.
  • Then find the exit fee. Converting is one charge; getting the money to your bank is often another.
  • Check the currency the schedule is written in. Skrill's is in euro and Neteller's in US dollars, so an Australian pays whatever those convert to on the day.
  • Look for an inactivity clause. Both charge a monthly fee after six months of no logins — a forgotten balance drains itself.
  • Note the date on the schedule. An undated fee page is not a commitment.

See it side by side

Our comparison table lines every method up against the same attributes, and each method review carries the current figures with the source and the date they were checked.

General information about payment methods available in Australia. Not financial advice. Fees, limits and features change — verify current terms with the provider before acting.